Have you emptied the Drive trash folder accidentally? Let’s learn how to restore/ recover files and folders that you have permanently deleted from your Google Drive.
Whenever you delete any files from Google Drive its moved to the Trash / Bin Folder. Deleted files are stored in the Trash folder for 30 days and then after it is permanently deleted.
If Deleted files want to recover from the trash folder, then you can right-click on the file and select Restore. The file will be undeleted and moved to its original destination.
Restore Permanently Deleted Files
Table of Contents
If we failed to recover deleted files within the 30 days duration, or if we have emptied the Bin or Trash manually, then the files will be permanently deleted from Google Drive.
Since Files are deleted permanently Still, we have the option to recover or restore files with the support of Google.
You can contact Google support and they may restore the deleted files for you.
- Go to The https://support.google.com/drive/contact/file_recovery and Sign in to the Google account you used to delete the file.
- Provide First Name, Last Name and click in the check box to confirm that you are trying to recover files you deleted permanently from google drive.
You will be received an email from firstname.lastname@example.org confirming that your request has been received and that it may take up to 48 hours for the files to be restored. (It usually takes less than 12 hours.)
Google recommends that you avoid emptying your trash while the file recovery process is ongoing. Also, please note that files that you have yourself uploaded to Google Drive may be recovered in this process. If you are not the owner of a file, it cannot be restored through this process.
Once the restoration process is completed, Google Support will send us another email confirming that the files have been restored. You can now open your Google Drive and the permanently deleted files and folders will be visible in their original location.
The above-mentioned process is for only individual accounts. If you have a workspace account, you have to contact your administrator.